What’s Up With Twitter DM Spam?

Twitter has been hit by a plague of direct message spam, but so far users have gotten no guidance from Twitter management.

It started last night with a plague of messages with the text “Is this you?” and a possibly malicious URL that seemed to come from someone you followed. This evening, the message changed to “hey, i’ve been having better sex and longer with this here” followed by a link.

Have a large number of Twitter accounts been hacked? Or has someone figured out how to spoof DMs? I changed my password after a follower reported getting a spammy DM from me, but I suspect that really isn’t the problem.

Even if Twitter hasn’t fully figured out the problem yet, they owe users an update and some advice.

2 Responses to “What’s Up With Twitter DM Spam?”

  1. When did I become my Mom Says:

    I had the same thing happen to me… Quite embarrassing to say the least. I’d love to get some answers…

  2. D Says:

    I was left with no choice but to deactivate my twitter account.

Leave a Reply

